A Close Final For The Challenge Cup

The oldest trophy at the club, introduced by Harold Pearson in 1911, the Challenge Cup was the club’s top tournament until the inauguration of the Gold Cup and remains one of the most coveted trophies in British Polo. Vikings met Murus Sanctus on Sunday 6th August, to play for the title on a surprisingly clear afternoon following Saturday’s match cancellations.

Murus Sanctus took an early lead of 3 goals in the first chukka thanks to a team effort scored by Marcos Araya and Matt Perry, with an early goal from the 30 yard mark by Tommy Beresford.

Vikings’ Juan Martin Zubia closed the gap by two goals in the second chukka, putting the pressure back on Murus Sanctus in the third and fourth chukkas. By the start of the fifth chukka the teams were level with 7 apiece, leading to a tensely fought end to the tournament. The winning goal was scored by Diego Cavanagh in extra time, awarding Vikings the victory with a final score of 8-7.

The Challenge Cup was presented to Siri Evjemo-Nysveen by Inez Bethall.

MVP went to Juan Martin Zubia, awarded by Inez Bethall.

The No.3 Gin Pursuit of Perfection Best Playing pony rug was awarded to Emezeta Rhodesia, played by Juan Martin Zubia and presented by Inez Bethall.


Share the Post:

Related Posts